Search Here

Custom Search

Talavera, tops LGUs’ with best practices

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, Pampanga, April 30 (PNA) -– Fifty local government units (LGUs) in Central Luzon that have implemented best practices in the issuance of mayor's permits were honored on Wednesday by the Central Luzon Growth Corridor Foundation Inc. (CLGCFI).

The CLGCFI provides policy decisions and facilitate the planning, coordination and monitoring of investment-related projects for the region.

Olongapo City emerged as the sole recipient in the highly-urbanized city category while the City of San Fernando bagged the first place in the component city category.

Trade and Industry regional director and CLGCFI member Blesilda Lantayona said the annual recognition seeks to acknowledge the efforts of local chief executives and their Business Permits and Licensing Office (BPLO) staff to eliminate red tape and reduce the cost of doing business in their respective municipalities and cities.

Lantayona added that turn-around time, client feedback, internal monitoring system and organizational development served as the criteria in the selection of awardees.

The towns of San Luis, Aurora; Dinalupihan, Bataan; Guiguinto, Bulacan; Talavera, Nueva Ecija; Mabalacat, Pampanga; Gerona, Tarlac and Masinloc, Zambales took home the top awards in the 1st and 2nd class municipality category.

First place awards were likewise given to the following third, fourth and fifth class municipalities: Baler, Aurora; Samal, Bataan; Llanera, Nueva Ecija; Bacolor, Pampanga; Anao, Tarlac and San Felipe, Zambales.

Special citations were also given to Tarlac City for being the Best Business One Stop Shop (BOSS); the cities of San Fernando, Olongapo and Balanga for being the pioneer LGUs in the region to comply and implement reforms imposed by the Nationwide Streamlining of the Business Permits & Licensing Systems in the Philippines program; Bacolor (Pampanga) and Olongapo City as Hall of Famers after being named as best practitioners of the streamlining project in their respective categories for three consecutive years.

The towns of Hermosa (Bataan), Sta. Maria (Bulacan), Capas (Tarlac), Iba (Zambales) and Angeles City as Hall of Fame Achievement winners for satisfactorily sustaining their feat as outstanding implementer of streamlined procedures even after attaining the Hall of Fame award; and the City of San Fernando, Baler (Aurora) and Talavera (Nueva Ecija) as Golden Eagle Award honorees for their exemplary implementation of streamlined procedures on the issuance of mayor's permit in the last six years.

With the support of DTI and the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) in Central Luzon, the foundation was able to convince all 130 municipal and city governments in the region to streamline their procedures that would elevate the level of competitiveness of Central Luzon as an investment destination. (PNA)

Source: Positive New Media